IPL 2022: Malinga has been named as the Rajasthan Royals' fast bowling coach

IPL 2022: Malinga has been named as the Rajasthan Royals' fast bowling coach IPL 2022: Malinga has been named as the Rajasthan Royals' fast bowling coach

Lasith Malinga, a former Sri Lankan fast bowler, has been named the fast-bowling coach of the Rajasthan Royals ahead of the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Through a social media post on Friday (March 11), the franchise made the announcement official. Malinga was one of the best pacers in T20 cricket history, and he was a nightmare for bowlers throughout his playing days.

He was also an important part of the Mumbai Indians, who won the IPL five times. In fact, his 170 wickets in 122 matches remain the best for any bowler in the elite T20 league's history. As a result, his addition in the Rajasthan Royals' support system would be a huge boost for the team's first-season success.

Meanwhile, RR greeted Malinga with pomp and circumstance. "Lasith Malinga kisses the ball. "IPL. Pink," the Royals tweeted on Twitter, sharing a clever graphic confirming Malinga's hiring as the fast-bowling coach. Meanwhile, Malinga will work alongside Kumar Sangakkara, a former Sri Lankan teammate and the franchise's head of cricket operations.

Meanwhile, the Rajasthan Royals have assembled a solid roster in the IPL 2022 super auction and are optimistic about performing well in the next season. In the top-order, Sanju Samson will be joined by the likes of Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Devdutt Padikkal.

Finishers such as Shimron Hetmyer and Rassie van der Dussen will be in charge of the work. Maling will develop the likes of Trent Boult, Navdeep Saini, and Prasidh Krishna in the fast-bowling department. On paper, the side appears to be quite balanced, and it is projected to go a long way. Meanwhile, the IPL 2022 season will begin on March 26.

Rajsthan Royals Squad for IPL 2022: Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Obed McCoy, Anunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Karun Nair, Dhruv Jurel, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Shubham Garhwal, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rassie van der Dussen, Daryl Mitchell.

End sidebar